8th Annual Imperial County Environmental Health Leadership Summit
Thursday, November 2, 2017
8:30 am - 5:00 pm PST
Imperial Center-Twin Dragon, 1131 Yourman Road, Heber, California 92249

7:30 - 8:30 am Registration
  • Continental Breakfast
8:30 - 8:45 am Welcoming Remarks
  • Luis Olmedo, Executive Director, Comite Civico Del Valle, Inc.
Welcome Mistress of Ceremony
  • Juanita Salas, Division 1 Director, Imperial Irrigation District
8:45 - 9:15 am Keynote Speaker
Environmental Justice Movement (past, present, and future)
  • Jose Bravo, Executive Director, Just Transition Alliance
9:15 - 9:45am Office of Governor Edmund G. Brown Jr.
  • Alice Reynolds, Senior Advisor to the Governor for climate, the environment and energy.
9:45- 10:00 am Break
10:00 - 11:00 am Salton Sea and Asthma Plenary

Moderator: Amanda Ford, Coalition Coordinator, Environmental Justice Coalition for Water

Expert Panel

  • Dr. Jill Johnston, Assistant Professor of Preventive Medicine, University of Southern California
  • Esther Bejarano, Asthma Programs Manager, Comité Civico Del Valle, Inc.
  • Christina Olson, MPH, Health Program Coordinator, Imperial County Public Health Department
  • Aide Fulton, RN, BSN, PHN, AE-C, Director, Imperial Valley Child Asthma Program (iVCAP)
  • Bruce Wilcox, Assistant Secretary, Salton Sea Policy, California’s Natural Resources Agency
11:00 - 12:00 pm Climate Equity for Disadvantaged Communities

California Climate Investments are funded by the Cap-and-Trade auction proceeds. The State’s portion of the proceeds is deposited in the Greenhouse Gas Reduction Fund (GGRF) and appropriated by the Legislature to agencies for investing in projects that reduce greenhouse gas emission and benefit disadvantaged communities. This panel will provide the audience with projects that benefit disadvantaged communities while providing clean air.

Moderator: Trish Johnson, Executive Office, California Air Resources Board​

  • Eleanor Torres, Incredible Edible Community Garden
  • Marco Lizarraga, Executive Director, La Cooperativa Campesina De California
  • Lynnette Short , Urban Forester California Department of Forestry & Fire Protection
12:00 - 1:15 pm Luncheon Distinguished Speakers
  • Assemblymember Eduardo Garcia, 56th Assembly District
  • Michael Kelley, Chairman, Imperial County Board of Supervisors

Exhibits & Entertainment

  • Mariachi Mixteco (Live Performance)
1:15 - 2:15 pm Environmental Justice Statewide Efforts

Environmental Justice Organizations throughout California aim to create programs and address disproportionate social and environmental impacts in communities of color. This topics bring in a wealth of, social, moral, remedial, and advocacy issues that actually do redefine and improve justice for vulnerable populations.

Moderator: Stephanie Lucero, Senior Mediator, Center for Collaborative Policy, CA State University, Sacramento

  • Yana Garcia, Assistant Secretary for Environmental Justice, CalEPA
  • Nayamin Martinez, MPH, Director, Central California Environmental Justice Network
  • Jessica Tovar, MSW​ ​Moving Forward Network, Project Director
2:15 - 2:45 pm State of California Department of Justice
    Arsenio Y. Mataka, Office of Attorney General Xavier Becerra
2:45 - 3:00 pm Break
3:00 - 4:00 pm

Air Monitoring

The new era of community operated air monitoring networks which uses a genuine community-based approach that combines Community Science into designing IVAN Air that provides real-time, community-level air quality information to inform individual and community exposure-reduction efforts. use of air quality information and analysis results generated stationary sensors to obtain continuous air quality information specifically tailored to meet the needs of their communities. . These community-operated air quality networks are formed through grassroots initiatives aiming to explore and document local environmental conditions and to provide support and advocate policies designed to protect community residents.

Moderator: Penelope J.E. (Jenny) Quintana, Division of Environmental Health, Professor and MPH Program Graduate Advisor, SDSU

Expert Panel

  • Humberto Lugo, Air Monitoring Manager, Comité Civico Del Valle, Inc.
  • Astrid Calderas, Science Advisor, IVAN Air
  • Gustavo Aguirre Jr., Kern County Coordinator, Central California Environmental Justice Network
  • Margaret Gordon, Co-Founder and Co-Director, West Oakland Environmental Indicators Project
  • David Flores, Community Development Director, Casa Familiar
4:00 - 5:15 pm Next Generation of Community Air Monitoring and Pollution Reduction

Moderator: Ryan Atencio, Executive Office, California Air Resources Board​

Expert Panel

  • Karen Magliano, Interim Director, Office of Community Air Protection at the California Air Resources Board
  • Veronica Eady, Assistant Executive Officer for Environmental Justice, California Air Resources Board
  • Kurt Karperos, Deputy Executive Officer, California Air Resources Board
  • Catherine Dunwoody, Asst. Division Chief, Monitoring & Lab Division, ARB


Signed into law this summer, AB 617 (C. Garcia) is the most expansive shift in air quality regulation in the last 30 years. This panel will lay the framework for community air monitoring and explore how neighborhood-level air quality data can reduce local exposures and better inform regulatory networks.

California State Legislature

Joint Legislative Committee on Climate Change Policies

Assembly Committee on Natural Resources

Friday, November 3
2017 2:00pm – 5:00pm
Imperial Center, 1131 Yourman Road, Herber, CA 92249


  • Assemblymember Eduardo Garcia, Chair, Joint Legislative Committee on Climate Policies
  • Assemblymember Cristina Garcia, Chair, Assembly Committee on Natural Resources
  • Kealii Bright, California Natural Resources Agency
  • Jose Angel, California Regional Water Quality Control Board
  • Kevin Kelley, Imperial Irrigation District
  • John Hernández, Senior Assemblymember, California Senior Legislature
  • Richard Corey, California Air Resources Board
  • Luis Olmedo, Comite Civico Del Valle
  • Dr. Paul English, California Department of Public Health
  • Matt Dessert, Imperial County Air Pollution Control District